Where We're Working, Serving and Learning

The Meelia Center collaborates at nearly 60 sites where students can engage in meaningful service and have a positive impact in the community. To learn more about the agency, or how you can become involved, contact the site liaison, listed below.

With many agencies now requiring background checks before students can participate, we have separated the list into two sections: those sites requiring background checks, and those that do not.

Background Check Required

21st Century – Assist with afterschool program at an inner-city elementary school. The program inspires all students to reach their full potential academically, socially and personally through support activities.

  • Contact: Jennifer Bartlett – jbartlett@anselm.edu

Bartlett Elementary School (Goffstown) – Assist in classroom activities, lead small groups, or tutor one-on-one. Help with reading & support kids w/ academic and/or social-emotional challenges Hours: M-Th 8:30-4:00p

  • Contact: Basirat Sanni – bsanni@anselm.edu

Bedford Hills Health Care & Rehabilitation Center – Volunteers are matched up one-on-one with residents, visit patients, and organize group activities. Participate in a walking club. Additional service opportunities are also available in the Alzheimer’s unit. Hours: M-Su 8AM-5PM T/Th until 7PM

  • Contact: Lyndsay Davis – ldavis@anselm.edu

Boys and Girls Club – assist with afterschool activities including homework help, digital literacy, arts and crafts, recreational activities and more. Serves youth aged 6-16. Hours: M-F 3:00-6:00

  • Contact: Jill Sands – jsands@anselm.edu

B.R.I.N.G I.T. – Help refugee families integrate into the school and the larger community through adult ESOL classes and activities for their children, including soccer and dance. Hours: Tu-Wed 5:30-8:30 pm

  • Contact: meeliacenter@anselm.edu

Child Health Services – Students work as Community Resource Volunteers to help families with information so they can secure car seats, bike helmets, material goods, public assistance, etc. Requires commitment of 2 hrs. per week FOR AT LEAST ONE YEAR. Training and support provided. Days and times flexible.

  • Contact: Hannah Furlong – hfurlong@anselm.edu

College Access – Inspire and mentor refugees, immigrants and underrepresented high school students as they explore various higher education opportunities. Location: West High School – 5 minutes away. Hours: M-F 2:30-5:00.

  • Contact: Brittany Beaumier – bbeaumier@anselm.edu; Molly Burgess – mburgess@anselm.edu

Crotched Mountain – Assist students, aged 6-22 years old, who are coping with developmental and/or physical handicaps. Weekend visits and activities available. Located ~45 min away. Hours: M-F 8a-5p., Sat.- Sun open

  • Contact: Lyndsay Davis – ldavis@anselm.edu

Easter Seals Child Care Center – Childcare center in Manchester for children 6 months to 12 years. The program targets children of low-income families. Volunteer opportunities include classroom aide, or Big Brother / Big Sister. Hours: M-F 6:30a-12:00 & 2:00-5:30p

  • Contact: Jess Serio – jserio@anselm.edu; Lisi Leccese – lleccese@anselm.edu

Easter Seals Parent Baby Adventure Program – Volunteers actively engage in activities with the children, and assist in support activities for their young mothers.

  • Contact: Jess Serio – jserio@anslem.edu; Lisi Leccese – lleccese@anselm.edu

Families in Transition – Work with homeless families in the pre-school and after-school program (all ages) during and after school hours. Assistance also needed in the thrift store. Hours: M-F 8-6p

  • Contact: meeliacenter@anselm.edu

Goodwill GoodGuides Mentoring Program – help youth in the process of being released from the Sununu Youth Development Center (YDC) prepare for school completion, develop work skills, identify career paths and transition to post-secondary opportunities.. One year (10 months) commitment mandatory. Hours: flexible

  • Contact: Caitryn Gustafson – cagustafson@anselm.edu

Hampshire House – Federal prison half-way house where volunteers teach computers and provide support with job search and career exploration. Flexible days and times. Background check required.

  • Contact: Kennan MacArthur – kmacarthur@anselm.edu

International Institute of NH – Help provide the resources, guidance, and educational opportunities that enable newly arrived refugees– single parents, children, families and individuals – to make positive contributions to our communities and to become economically self-sufficient. Hours: to be determined

  • Contact: Bridget Sica – bsica@anselm.edu

Manchester Schools (Elementary) – Assist in classroom activities, story-time, art projects, etc., lead small groups, or tutor one-on-one. Help with reading/ mentoring & supporting kids w/ academic and/or social-emotional challenges Hours: M-F 8:30-2:30p

  • Contact: Chloe Kealey – ckealey@anselm.edu

Manchester Schools (Middle & High) – Assist in special education and ESOL classrooms w/ school students who need extra support, encouragement & attention. Hours: M-F 8:30-2:30p

  • Contact: Chloe Kealey – ckealey@anselm.edu

Moore Center – Agency serves young adults and adults with developmental disabilities, or acquired brain injury. Volunteers assist in life skills classes for clients, as well as facilitate social interactions among their clients. One-on-one tutoring is also available. Hours: M-F 8:30-4:30p

  • Contact: Robert Celona – rcelona@anselm.edu

My Turn – Work with a diverse group of at-risk high school students in educational/vocational program – takes place at Central High School. Hours: M-F 8:30-2:30p

  • Contact: Jill Sands – jsands@anselm.edu

NH Probation and Parole - Community corrections services for adult offenders. Volunteers shadow & assist probation officers. Hours: M-Fri. Afternoon and early evenings

  • Contact: Kennan MacArthur – kmacarthur@anselm.edu

NH State Women’s Prison

  • Contact: meeliacenter@anselm.edu

Selma Dietch Early Learning Program – Developmental Preschool- Volunteers work w/ special education teachers in classrooms for 3-5 year olds who have autism, Down’s syndrome & other developmental challenges. Hrs: M-F 9-11am & 12:30-3pm

  • Contact: Alie Lawrence – alawrence@anselm.edu; Jennifer Farrar – jfarrar@anselm.edu

Sununu Youth Development Center (YDC) – Secure treatment facility for delinquent youth of New Hampshire. Volunteer opportunities include tutoring, Big Brother / Big Sister, assisting in the on-site school or helping with the jogging club, etc. Hours: T-W 6-7p

  • Contact: Caitryn Gustafson – cagustafson@anselm.edu

Background Check Not Required

Career Coaching – Volunteers use Career Dimensions web site to assist individuals as they explore career options and the educational requirements that correspond with those careers. Sites include: Youth Development Center. Hours: School hours or evening depending on site

  • Contact: Kennan MacArthur – kmacarthur@anselm.edu

Child and Family Services – Volunteers work in the Teen Services Program, including the Runaway and Homeless Youth Outreach Team. Hours: W or Th 4:30-6:30.

  • Contact: Kerry White – kewhite@anselm.edu

English for New Americans (ENA) – Help refugees and immigrants learn English & adapt to a new environment through ESOL classes, and cultural activities. Volunteers serve as teacher’s aides or one-on-one mentors. Volunteers also take part in cultural activities. Hours: Tu, Wed, Th, 9-11a, M-Th, 5-8p and some weekends.

  • Contact: Rachel Taschereau – rtaschereau@anselm.edu

Family Teams – Spend time in-home with families experiencing various major health challenges. Service focused on emotional support and friendly visits. Hours flexible

  • Contact: Katie Laque – klaque@anselm.edu; Lindsay Fleming – lfleming@anslem.edu

Girls Incorporated – Inspiring all girls to be Strong, Smart and Bold! Girls Inc. is an after-school and dinner program that targets economically disadvantaged and/or at-risk girls aged 5-15. Hours: M-F 3-5 or 4-6

  • Contact: Paige McGowan – pmcgowan@anselm.edu; Katie Gargano – kgargano@anselm.edu

Greater Manchester AIDS Project – Provide support and assistance to persons infected and/or affected by HIV/AIDS. Students participate provide "supportive listening" clients in addition to assisting with their food & clothing pantry and administrative support, etc. Hours: M-F 9-5p

  • Contact: Gabi Tellez – gtellez@anselm.edu

Hillsborough County Nursing Homes (HCNH) – Volunteers are matched up one-on-one with residents, visit patients, and organize group activities. Additional service opportunities are also available in the Alzheimer’s unit. Hours: M-Su 8AM-8PM.

  • Contact: Lyndsay Davis – ldavis@anselm.edu

Head Start- Program for low-income children where volunteers serve as classroom aides, assisting the teachers in different activities, while establishing relationships with children ages 3-5. Hours: M-F 8a-12p, 2-5p

  • Contact: Alie Lawrence – alawrence@anselm.edu; Jennifer Farrar – jfarrar@anselm.edu

Holy Cross Family Learning Center – Help refugees and immigrants learn English & adapt to a new environment through ESOL classes, and cultural activities. Volunteers serve as teacher’s aides or one-on-one mentors. Volunteers also take part in cultural activities. Hours: M-F 9AM-2pm

  • Contact: Bridget Sica – bsica@anselm.edu

Humanities After-School – Join refugee and non-refugee high school students and college students in program to research and present on the contributions of the refugee cultures. Hours: Monday 3:30-5:30

  • Contact: Jess Genza – jgenza@anselm.edu

INTI Academy – Support soccer academy for underprivileged youth of Manchester. Programming includes weekly soccer training and academic instruction, as well as scrimmages and field trips on weekends. Hours: M-F Afternoon, Evenings and Weekends.

  • Contact: Dino Roffo – droffo@anselm.edu

Kids Café – is a soup kitchen run by the Salvation Army for children in need. Volunteers tutor the children, help with homework & serve dinner, participate in after dinner activities (sports, crafts, etc.). Hrs: M-Th. 5-7pm & Kids Café Teen Nite. Assist with Teen Night: Friday and Sat evenings 6:30-10:30.

  • Contact: Shannon Breen – sbreen@anselm.edu; Jackie Donovan – jdonovan@anselm.edu

Langdon Mill – provides homework help and activities for children in a low income apt building, primarily for refugees. Work with adult ESOL possible. Hours: M-F Afternoon, Evenings and Weekends.

  • Contact: Katie Williams – kawilliams@anselm.edu; Matt Pendergast – mpendergast@anselm.edu; Hannah O’Halloran – hohalloran@anselm.edu

Manchester Adult Learning Center – Adult ESOL classes for various levels of English language instruction for immigrants and refugees. Hours: M-F 9a-12p, M-Th 6-8pm.

  • Contact: Bridget Sica – bsica@anselm.edu

Manchester Homeless Services Center – Volunteer at the center to help engage with homeless adults and connect them to essential services through a daytime shelter, services and enrichment program. Hours vary.

  • Contact: Julie Smith – jusmith@anselm.edu

Manchester Police Athletic League & Nashua Police Athletic League – Recreational programs for at-risk youth includes boxing, floor hockey, judo, basketball, etc. Hours: M-Th 3-6p F 3-5p. Teen nites: 2nd & 4th Fri of each month 6-10pm

  • Contact: Dino Roffo – droffo@anselm.edu

New Horizons – Help with meal preparation, sorting and packing food, picking up donated food, and soup kitchen meal serving. Hours: M-F 9-3. Meal Serving 3:30-6p

  • Contact: meeliacenter@anselm.edu

BRING IT – NH Diversity Pipeline Project – Prepares minority and underrepresented youth for successful careers in health care, especially nursing. Hours: Tu. & Wed 5:30-8:30p (location Hillside Middle School – organized by BRING IT)

  • Contact: Jess Genza – jgenza@anselm.edu

Pine Haven Boys Center – Residential program for abused & neglected boys age 6-12. Volunteers will work directly with the boys during or after school hours. Hours: M-F 8:30-2:30p or later afternoon and early evenings.

  • Contact: Talis Reks – treks@anselm.edu

Public Achievement – A youth civic engagement initiative in which students are trained as coaches to work with their teams of 6-8 youth on an issue of concern chosen by the team. The coaches guide the group as they select and perform public work to address their chosen issue. Sites include the NH Youth Development Center.

  • Contact: Caitryn Gustafson – cgustafson@anselm.edu

SeniorsConnect – Trained volunteers spend time with seniors weekly, composing and sending their messages to friends and loved ones using laptop technology and other portable components. Hours: Flexible days & times

  • Contact: Lyndsay Davis – ldavis@anselm.edu

UpReach Therapeutic Riding Center – Horseback riding program dedicated to improving the physical, emotional and psychological development of challenged children and adults through progressive therapies centered on horseback riding. No horse experience required. Hours: M-F 8:30a–4:30p (some evening hours may be available)

  • Contact: Olivia Koperek – okoperek@anselm.edu

VA Hospital – Working with the Chaplin in the Hospice Unit with terminally ill veterans. Days and times are flexible.

  • Contact: Hannah Furlong – hfurlong@anselm.edu

Webster House – Provide tutoring and support to boys & girls (ages 12-17) in group home for abused & neglected children. Hours: M-F 6:30-8:30p Contact:

  • Contact: Talis Reks – treks@anselm.edu

YMCA STRIVE Program – volunteers work with middle and high school students who have been suspended or expelled from school. Provide educational support and informal mentoring. Hours: M-F 9:30am-1:30pm.

  • Contact: Talis Reks – treks@anselm.edu

YMCA Teen Center – Opportunities to spend time socializing with and mentoring youth ages 11-16 from diverse backgrounds in recreational and enrichment program. Hours: M-F 2:30-6p.

  • Contact: Talis Reks – treks@anselm.edu

YWCA Crisis Center – Train and Volunteer as a Crisis Line advocate against sexual/domestic violence. Provide support via phone and emergency room calls. Requires 36 hours of training and 2 semester commitment, and then two 12 hr. on-call shifts per month.

  • Contact: Kerri Reaney – kreaney@anselm.edu