Debate Team Hosts Eight-School Tournament

On Saturday, November 3, Saint Anselm College hosted the 20th annual Jack Lynch Invitational Debate Tournament. From 8 a.m. to 8 p.m., in various rooms around campus, members of the debate team faced opponents from seven other schools in eleven rounds.

This year, the topic is organic and sustainable agriculture.

The tournament is named after former history professor Jack Lynch, who served as the debate coach at Saint Anselm College for 46 years.

2012-13 Debate TeamCoach David Trumble and members Christopher Tinsley ’13, Katie Muzzy ’15, Kevin Lacourse ’15, Kevin Graham ’15 and Rebecca Pelletier ’16 prepared for weeks, the coach says,“furiously researching their cases and the cases of the teams from the other schools to get ready for their debate rounds.” The students worked together from early morning until late at night gathering the necessary information for their points, as well as the points of the teams from Bridgewater State University, Emerson College, Ithaca College, Lafayette College, Plymouth State University, Suffolk University, and University of Pennsylvania.

Every year, several debate team alumni volunteer to help at the Jack Lynch Invitational. This year, seven spent the day at the college judging rounds and offering encouragement: Mike Pirrello, Lisa Pearson, Rachel Willcox Casper, Nikki Thorspecken, Tim Vaughan, Courtney Gray and Tony Delcourt.

“I could write a book about how much I loved debate when I was at Saint A’s, how important I think the activity is, and how amazing Coach Dave Trumble is,” said Rachel (Willcox) Casper ’06.

Co-captain Kevin Lacourse ’15 also spoke highly of the debate team process, saying that debate “makes you more informed in general,” as the debate team brings awareness and investigates critical questions and situations in today’s society.

The team competed well (though one member withdrew due to laryngitis). Tinsley reached the quarterfinals in the varsity debate. The Saint Anselm College Debate Team’s next event will be at Otterbein College in Columbus, Ohio early in December.

Editor's Note: This story was submitted by Meagan Cox '15.